Unlike Tina Fey as Sarah Palin on SNL, I honestly can see Russia from my house, as it turns out.  It’s been amazingly clear the last few days (moving my roommate S to wax poetic).  Sunday afternoon we realized that off in the distance, past the edge of Tbilisi, behind Jvari and Mtskheta, far far off on the horizon, we could see snow-covered peaks, and thought it must be the Greater Caucasus themselves.  Lo and behold, it was!  The past few days have offered stunning glimpses of Mt. Kazbegi and the other Caucasus peaks roughly 150 kilometers to the North.

View from my apartment, Metekhi Church and Presidential Palace in foreground, Greater Caucasus in background

View from my apartment: Metekhi Church (left) and Presidential Palace (right, behind roof) Greater Caucasus in background

 

Focus on the Greater Caucasus, from our apartment window

Focus on the Greater Caucasus, from our apartment window

 

(Photos taken and post updated May 21, 2013)