Mexican-inspired pizza made on top of lobiani.

When I’m responsible for my own meals in Georgia, this is one of my go-to quick dinners.  Everything is easily available in Georgia, it’s inexpensive, and it’s a change of pace from typical Georgian food.  I’ve posted (over and over again) about my love of lobiani, Georgian bean bread.  This dish takes lobiani to a new level, using it as the base for a Mexican-inspired dish.  Lobiani is a bit thick to substitute for a tortilla, but it makes a great pizza “crust”.  Start by purchasing a piece of round, Imeruli-style lobiani at a local khachapuri stand.  (You can of course also make your own lobiani, but that would not qualify as a quick dinner).  Put some plain tomato sauce or salsa on it (you can get the ingredients for a basic fresh salsa in Georgia, no problem–tomatoes, chiles, garlic, onion, and cilantro are all very common).  Then add some cheese (Georgian-style cheese even works for this).  Add whatever veggies or other toppings you have available.  I usually add tomatoes and onions because they’re almost always around.  Peppers would be a great addition, and as you see in this picture I added some spiced ground meat.  Heat it up a bit so the flavors meld and the cheese gets a bit gooey (Georgian cheese usually doesn’t melt, per se)  One “personal pan” loburrito pizza lasts me for two meals.  ოლე!

