As I’ve mentioned before, when I chose to return to Georgia, I decided to collect as many books as I could to bring with me.  As research, I stopped by my local public library and chatted with the Children’s and YA Librarians about what books they thought might be appropriate for my future students.  They were incredibly helpful and allowed me to branch out beyond my preferences for spunky pioneer girls and vampires to find books that will appeal to a broader range of interests.  The YA librarian kept her discards for me for a few weeks and let me sort through and take the ones I thought would be suitable, so I now have two piles of books for my students (and I’ll get to read them, too)!

So, the moral of the story is, support your public libraries; they’re a great resource for the community and they might just support you some day.