Welcome to Cookies and the Caucasus, a blog of ex-pat life in the Republic of Georgia.  Nice to meet you!

I’m your blogger, Em, and as of January I will be an American teacher in the Republic of Georgia.  Here I’ll post about Georgian politics, culture, food, and life as an ex-pat.  Until I get there and really get into things, my posts will mostly be about my preparations, background information on Georgia, and ways to appreciate Georgia from afar.  You’ll have to excuse the sad lack of pictures until I actually arrive in-country.

It seems I should begin with an explanation of my title.  The “and the Caucasus” part is simple enough–that’s where Georgia is, after all.  But what about the “Cookies”?  In short, I like cookies, and I like the alliteration of the title.  I have a half-baked (haha) theory of cultural diplomacy and chocolate chip cookies as the key to world peace, but for a start I’ll share with you my favorite (super awesome) chocolate chip cookie recipe, which is in fact Secretary of State Hillary Clinton’s chocolate chip cookie recipe.

Original Recipe here:

Hillary Clinton’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups rolled oats (I add the oats at the end, and add as many oats as the dough will support, usually it’s a little more than 2 cups)
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (or 2 regular size chocolate bars of your choice, roughly chopped)

For high altitude, I doubled the vanilla and measured all the dry ingredients scant, and they turned out well.  I haven’t yet experimented enough to see if that’s a hard and fast rule, but it worked once!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C). Rub a bit of butter on the baking sheet.  Usually the amount that sticks on the wrapper is enough. Cream together shortening, sugars and vanilla in large bowl with electric mixer until creamy. Add eggs and beat until light and fluffy.

Gradually beat in flour, salt and baking soda. Stir in rolled oats and then chocolate chips. Drop batter by rounded teaspoonfuls onto baking sheets. Bake for 8-12 minutes or until golden. Cool cookies on sheets for 2 minutes. Remove to wire racks to cool completely.

-Em